Final Week: What I Learned

For my final post, I decided to exhibit what I learned from this class by creating a Powtoon video. This class has deepened my understanding of Maker Education and given me a drive to create one in my own classroom. I see the immense benefits of a Makerspace that allows students to create, collaborate, innovate, design, and explore. I have learned the value of collaboration and providing opportunities for shared knowledge to occur.

Through my experience, I have seen how experimentation and trial and error can be a tool used for obtaining deeper understanding. While working on my projects, I have been able to experience how my students might feel as they are explore a new concept or tool. The work I have done in this course is very applicable to my current classroom. I plan of implementing and utilizing many of the tools in this class not just for my students, but also to share with my colleagues. I am excited to see what the rest of the MAET program has to teach me and plan to share my knowledge to impact a wider scope.

References:

Suh, Sookyung. “The Effect of using Guided Questions and Collaborative Groups for Complex Problem Solving on Performance and Attitude in a Web -Enhanced Learning Environment.” Order No. 3216655 The Florida State University, 2005. Ann Arbor: ProQuest. Web. 30 Mar. 2017.

Gu, Xiaoqing, et al. “An Intervention Framework Designed to Develop the Collaborative Problem-Solving Skills of Primary School Students.” Educational Technology, Research and Development 63.1 (2015): 143-59. ProQuest. Web. 30 Mar. 2017.

O’Donnell, A. (2012). Constructivism. In APA Educational Psychology Handbook: Vol. 1. Theories, Constructs, and Critical Issues. K. R. Harris, S. Graham, and T. Urdan (Editors-in-Chief). Washgington, DC: American Psychological Association. DOI: 10.1037/13273-003.

Klepper, J., JD, Periera, J., MAEd, & Saynor, Z., MS. (n.d.). Maker Education: Effective Implementation in 21st Century Classrooms. Retrieved April 22, 2017, from http://cdn2.hubspot.net/hubfs/2224003/EDU/downloads/whitepaper.pdf

 

Leave a comment